Community / Calendar

Exhibition: “Forging Alliances”

Art & Museum Exhibits

Wednesday April 23, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Thursday April 24, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Friday April 25, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday April 26, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Sunday April 27, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday April 29, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Wednesday April 30, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Thursday May 1, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Friday May 2, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday May 3, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Sunday May 4, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday May 6, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Wednesday May 7, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Thursday May 8, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Friday May 9, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday May 10, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Sunday May 11, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

In the years following World War II, one of the ways Japan attempted to reshape its world image was by presenting an idea of modern Japanese culture rooted in tradition. This effort took place both in Japan, where individual artists were encouraged to develop new approaches to long-established forms of Japanese art, and in the West, where art audiences were encouraged to value new Japanese artistic expressions as part of a global culture of modernism associated with creative individuality. “Forging Alliances” draws on the Palmer Museum’s collection of postwar “mingei” ceramics, many of which were acquired for the University by the late professor of art Ken Beittel during his historic 1967 sabbatical in Arita to study with Manji Inoue, and mid-twentieth-century woodblock prints from the “Creative Print Movement,” a western-influenced trend that emphasized a more individualized approach to Japanese printmaking.

The works featured in “Forging Alliances” were selected by Christopher Reed, professor of English and visual culture, and Jonathan Abel, assistant professor of comparative literature and Asian Studies. The exhibition served as the subject for their fall 2013 seminar, “Mapping Identity, Difference, and Place,” in which students researched and provided didactic information for each of the pots and prints on view.

Continuing through May 11, 2014.

Museum Hours:
Tuesday through Saturday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Sunday, noon to 4:00 p.m.
Closed Mondays and some holidays

Spring Break Special Hours:
Saturday, March 8 through Sunday, March 16, noon to 4:00 p.m.
Closed Sunday, April 20

FREE ADMISSION

Details

COST:

FREE ADMISSION


BROUGHT TO YOU BY:

Palmer Museum of Art


WEBSITE:

http://www.palmermuseum.psu.edu

Venue

Palmer Museum of Art
Penn State, Curtin Road
University Park, PA,

Contact

Palmer Museum of Art
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
814-865-7672