Community / Calendar

Exhibition: “Window on the West: Views from the American Frontier,” The Phelan Collection

Art & Museum Exhibits

Thursday July 24, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Friday July 25, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday July 26, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday July 29, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Wednesday July 30, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Thursday July 31, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Friday August 1, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday August 2, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday August 5, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Wednesday August 6, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Thursday August 7, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Friday August 8, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday August 9, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday August 12, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Wednesday August 13, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Thursday August 14, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Friday August 15, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday August 16, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday August 19, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Wednesday August 20, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Thursday August 21, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Friday August 22, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday August 23, 2014
10:00 am - 4:30 pm

“Window on the West: Views from the American Frontier” features a large selection of paintings and watercolors from the private collection of Arthur J. Phelan of Chevy Chase, Maryland. A lifelong student of American history, Phelan began collecting views of the American West several decades ago, eager to better understand the relevance of the frontier to the American psyche and its role in the construction of the nation’s identity.

Spanning the mid-nineteenth to the early twentieth centuries, the collection features works by many well-known artists—Albert Bierstadt, Karl Bodmer, Frederic Remington, and Carl Wimar—as well as works by lesser-known men and women who recorded their observations of the West. The exhibition highlights three themes: the natural wonder of the western landscape; the steady encroachment of settlements into once open territory; and the remarkable individuals, many of them anonymous, who populated the frontier as it moved westward.

“Window on the West: Views from the American Frontier,” The Phelan Collection, was organized by Exhibits Development Group, USA.

Continuing through August 31, 2014.

Museum Hours:
Tuesday through Saturday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Sunday, noon to 4:00 p.m.
Closed Mondays and some holidays

FREE ADMISSION

Details

COST:

FREE ADMISSION


BROUGHT TO YOU BY:

Palmer Museum of Art


WEBSITE:

http://www.palmermuseum.psu.edu

Venue

Palmer Museum of Art
Penn State, Curtin Road
University Park, PA,

Contact

Palmer Museum of Art
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
814-865-7672